This is the "Start Here" page of the "History - South Carolina" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History - South Carolina  

Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.coastal.edu/south_carolina_history Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's In This Guide

Start Here: Best databases for History articles

Books (and more): E-book listings, online catalog search, DVD's and streaming video

Articles: List of best databases for locating articles and links to full-text journals on all aspects of South Carolina History

Newspapers: Full-text articles from the Colonial period to the present.

Topic Overviews: e-encyclopedias and background information sources.

Census Data: online, print, and microfilm census data for S.C., Horry and Georgetown counties.

Digital Archives: primary material collections relating to South Carolina history

Citing: Getting help with Chicago style and Turabian style.

Help: Where to go to get additional assistance.

 

Courses this Guide will help

This guide focuses on sources of information on South Carolina history from discovery to the present.

It supports:

  • HIST 383 History of the Colony and State of South Carolina
  • HIST 384  History of Horry and Georgetown Counties
  • HIST 389  The New South
 

America History and Life

America History and Life

Full text articles on all aspects of S.C. History

 

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

 

Accessible Archives

  

 

Full-text Newspaper Archives from 1736-1902. Coverage includes:

Colonial period: SC Newspapers, Pennsylvania Gazette and Virginia Gazette

African American Newspapers 1827-1902;

Civil War era Newspapers.

Civil War Collection.

Godey's Lady's Book.

American County Histories.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip