This is the "Start Here" page of the "History - Primary Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History - Primary Documents  

Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.coastal.edu/history_primary_documents Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this Guide?

This is a guide to locating primary historical documents online and in Kimbel Library.

Start Here: Featured database of the month, New York Times, and Accessible Archives.

Primary Documents in KL: A listing of print and microfilm collections of primary sources.

Newspapers: Access to online newspaper collections and individual titles, such as the Times of London.

Digital Archives-KL: Databases of primary source materials covering American History, the South, Slavery, and Women's Studies.

Digital Archives: online images and documents from archives, libraries, and museums.

Census Data: print and online access to data from 1790-1940.

Government Documents: links to full-text legal and public documents.

Help: contact a librarian to help you.

 

 

Need Help?

Featured Database:

Each month, this box will feature one of the newer primary source databases available through Kimbel Library.

  • Witchcraft in Europe and America
    The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century.
 

Full text of the New York Times Historical : 1851-2007

Find the full text of all articles and images of the actual pages.

 

Full text newspapers, magazines and books from 1690's-1890's

 

 Full-text Newspaper Archives from 1736-1902. Coverage includes:

Colonial period: SC NewspapersPennsylvania Gazette and Virginia Gazette 

African American Newspapers 1827-1902; Civil War era Newspapers.; Civil War Collection; Godey's Lady's Book; American County Histories.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip